Wednesday, December 30, 2009

Jah

is how to say "Yes" in german.

In Russian, it is "Da".

Sunday, July 26, 2009

Another Instance Where Gavin Creel Improves Life

SO. If you know me, like AT ALL, you know i levo* "the business", bway. Lots and lots and oodles and noodles.

One of my most recent obsessions: Gavin Creel. I was first introduced to this beautiful human being when i got my Thoroughly Modern Millie OCR many a-year ago. And i was like "Oooh, good voice, let's listen to Marc Kudisch some more."



AND THEN:

This year's tony's. Hair up for Best Revival. GAVIN CREEL starring in Hair.

mmmmmm.

And all of sudden, HE'S EVERYWHERE! In the backstage footage with Susan Blackwell, in my really-late Tony coverage...when i looked at him on the youtube...Being reviewed by Seth Rudetsky, in TWO Hair CDs i had...He's UBIQUITOUS!



And now on Twitter**



This is clearly a good thing for my life.



LOOK: Already he has helped me! Brilliance of Gavin Creel





*There is a funny story behind this. One day i will tell it.

**There is a story behind my battle with/love of Twitter...

Monday, June 22, 2009

A Triumphant Return!

SO. I conquered BEDA.

And subsequently died.
My nonexistent blogging as of late is partly that i honestly had nothing of note to say and partly that BEDA seriously did tire me out*. That's a little embarrassing.

Anyway, i still have nothing much of note to say, but i will babble onto the interwebs anyway.

Funny Misreading of the day: I was at Marc's today with my papa** and really had a ball. I ended up getting some foodstuffs which will probably prove to be entirely delicious and babbled away like the nutter i am. Also, i got instant pudding that i can make and the promise that Daddydear will teach me how to make scalloped potatoes***.

Anyhow, we were in the checkout aisle, and i was looking at gum, for the mere purpose of gazing at interesting packages and names, as i haven't had a bit of gum since probably 4th grade****. I declaimed that if i DID chew gum, i would choose Orbit, not only because of the humorous, but also because the packaging is quite attractive. I passed Orbit and looked at Wrigley's extraordinarily foul-smelling and pretentious 5Gum.
The flavor in question was called "Rain" but being the brilliant and somewhat blind person i am, i read it as "Pain". I wondered aloud if this was possibly the gum that Orthodontists passed out at their offices, and perhaps Wrigley should consider investing in "Comfort" or "Almost Motrin"*****. Then Pa alerted me that it was actually "Rain". But can you blame me?? Look at the packaging! The PAIN is just BURSTING out of the box! This picture accurately illustrates. Besides, it's sugarfree. How much more painful can you get?? ******

But i feel that my act of NONbrilliance here is severely overshadowed by my epiphany when i arrived home. I came to the conclusion that i only drop things when i think i will not, and similarly, carrying is successful when i declare that i will most certainly drop. The time that comes to mind is my very self-confident, very abortive carrying of plants to the car. I dropped the tray about two feet from the trunk. Whereas, today, i cried, "I'm about to drop this cantaloupe, honeydew, and watermelon!"******* and delivered them all safely to the kitchen.

I'm happily listening to Beatles right now. So that's good. "You say good-bye, i say hello".
It's good to be back. :)



*Current Fail: i originally wrote "ware" me out, but couldn't remember if it was "wear" or "ware" in this situation, so i switched to "tire". ::facepalm:: A trip to my mecca has shown that it is "wear".
**Two sidenotes here: First, i don't ordinarily rock the shopping trips with my dadd, but because i didn't have dance after my oboe lesson, we stopped to shop. Second, i ran into Tash! :)
***I love potatoes.
****And even then, i wasn't a huge gum fiend. I was not allowed to eat it before 3rd grade because i probably would've killed myself spectacularly and i got teeth-related, chewstuffs-inhibiting devices around 5th grade, so gum has never been optimum. Besides, i find that that little chewed bit, just floating around my mouth is sickening. Furthermore, i would probably spit too much, chewing gum.
*****Can't you see it? "Comfort" could be chicken-soup flavored, colored with quilts.
******When finding good pictures of "Pain", i came upon this blog. Very funny.
******THAT'S RIGHT. A triumphant carrying of THREE melons went down in my front yard today. Balancing FTW!

Wednesday, May 20, 2009

Question:

So you know what's laaaaame?

A Maddi who doesn't post because she thinks BEDA covered it. FAIL.

IN other news, school will be gone pretty soon. Annnnnd SummerPlans are undefined as of now.

ALSO: The Last Five Years OWNS! ALL!

Thursday, April 30, 2009

It can't possibly be!

I was going to start the day's blog off with a story of sadness and woe. But at approximately frenchclass o' clock in the morning i realized, in a streak of brilliance, that today is the last day of april*! So no bad news for you!! It was choir-related, so i'll just wait until state contest is over tomorrow to share.

As much as i am sad BEDA is ending, i am happy that Alyssa and i both made it [per se] and can now celebrate with our nerdfighter celebration we have been planning! More on this when it happens {it WILL happen}.

SO: what's a blogger to do to celebrate the end of BEDA? I'll tell you what she does! SHE REVIEWS!! In a fun, nerd-friendly way, of course. Without further ado, A look at BEDA with NUMBERS!!

Number of times i wrote a longer-than-two-words-linked-with-hyphens word: 27

Number of times i wrote IN CAPS**: 147

Times my footnotes were longer than the actual blog: 1

Number of sentences i ended with ... : 18

Number of parentheses, brackets, and those fancier-than-thou brackets: 31

Pictures i used: 16

times i mention interrobangs: 2!?!?

Mentionings of shakespeare***: 9

Date i gave up on tags for my posts: Saturday, April 11.

A-hahaha!! Isn't it fun to reminisce?

Also, i feel like i should've undergone an immense change. Like, i went to bed one day blogging about lopsided wooden elephants and woke up the next day...not... And yet?

Baby steps, yes? Baby steps.

IN OTHER NEWS: Tessa has brutally informed me that as a whole, the Great and Powerful Internets has decided to move away from putting actions into asterisks and using ::verb::. She has encouraged me to switch. I'm not suuure.... It might make my footnotes less confuzzing? Hmm.

AND A FRENCH STORY: Today, during verb conjugations {what we do when Monsieur is checking leurs devoirs}, i got bored. And as anyone knows, boredom + maddi + little supervision doesn't really add up to safety, now does it? So, when the last person had written up the conditionnel for se laver, i snuck up to the front board, and with the egging of Tim, wrote in huge letters, "OUCH!"****. Then, i went back to my seat to wait.

You see, whenever anyone writes something on the board that ISN'T strictly an assignment, Msr May must comment on it. And whenever someone says something that he thinks would sound funny in french, he goes, "En Francais? It is..." and goes on to tell us the nature of the word, etc*****. So throughout all the reading-aloud of the conjugations, Tim and i sat giggling, just waiting for him to get to the front board.

Finally, he got there. And passed it over. He read all the other words on the board and then said, "Ouch? Who wrote that?" Silence. "Weeeeell, En Francais, we say..." and went on to tell us the history of "Aie!" and what his Polish wife says when she burns herself. All in all a pretty successful day. We tried again with "Yippee!" and "Hoorah!", but he did not notice them...

The moral of BEDA: Don't tan so much you turn orange. Ever.******





*Read: I excitedly told Tim that it was thursday the 29th. And he corrected me.
** I should mention for this that i'm going by groups. To save my sanity.

***This is actual mentionings of The Man. Not just speaking shakespeareanly, as i am quite prone to doing.

****The reason for this word in particular is that Tim had just been speaking about interjections and said that an exclamation point was an interjection. It isn't.

*****A few days ago, he enlightened us on the word "sabotage", giving a detailed history of wooden shoes along with it.

******Yes, i understand this does not really have to do with BEDA, as i've never mentioned orange people before. But think about it. Isn't it a good moral anyhow? :)

HAPPY BLOGGING Y'ALL!

Wednesday, April 29, 2009

WHENEVER I WANT TO PUT SOMETHING IN CAPS, I HAVE TO PRESS SHIFT

This is the truth. I almost never use that nasssty caps lock button because a) i always forget i have it on and try to shift, therby negating the effect and making it lowercase and b) IT MAKES ME FEEL LIKE I'M SHOUTING IF I TYPE WITH ONLY ONE FINGER.*

Anyway, i wanted to write about some funny happenings during the day today. I had, like, three stories that were humourous, but i can only think of one right now. Without further ado, i present to thee,

A Frenchman's Tale.

So lately, in Fabulous French class, we've been learning about Daily Activities>showering**, brushing teeth, raping puppies, you know, things of that nature. As such, we had a worksheet last night with illustrations we were supposed to caption. Now, one of the illustrations had a picture of a boy, washing himself, with a towel wrapped around his waist, and we were all discussing if he was "Lave" or "prendre a douche"***. Some argued that if he were really taking a shower, he would not have the towel on, and others retaliated that WHY would he wash himself with nothing but a towel on??? Some how, the discussion veered toward the irreverent when someone asked why he had the towel on anyway? Monsieur May, ever the epitome of class, said that "he doesn't want his family jewels on display".**** THEN, he said that we might be embarassed if the boy were in true shower-taking fashion. Tim boldly said that he would not be embarrassed. With that, Monsieur gives Tim this slooooow look up at his face, down to his *ahem* pants-type area and back up to his face, and says, "Really?".

Tim just looked at me and told me how violated he felt.

Oh, Monsieur May, i treasure you. Never leave us! :)



*And THAT, ladies and gents is your not-so-fun fact o' the day! Wee!
** You have no idea how many nasty jokes we've made out of "Prendre a douche" and the beloved "What activities are in the bedroom" Worksheets.
***For the non-francophones: Washing or taking a shower.
****Keep in mind, this man is pleasantly plump. And balding. But we love

Tuesday, April 28, 2009

REALLY?? Really, computer, THAT'S how you wanna do it??!?! I'll show you, you little non-music-loving

So at this point, i have exactly 7,488 songs on my ipod*. And I {THANKFULLY} have a 60g ipod, so i've got quite a bit of space left. And honestly, i've always thought of my ipod [DB is her name, in case you were wondering] as some bottomless pit of storage, and i can just dumpdumpdump any music i might ever want to listen to on her**. So IMAGINE my surprise when i tried uploading a Mountain Goats album, followed by Lily Allen's new album, followed by Company, only to have itunes interrupt the retrieving of Track 3, "The Little Things You Do Together" with an error message- and i quote- "Dammmmmit, maddi! You are filling up this entire computer with far too many musics and suches. I simply cannot sustain life with all this, you pants-wearing woman! I am but a simple computer and therefore below even ancient DB!"***.

Yeah, that's right. My computer just rejected another album, because ALTHOUGH my ipod can still fit atleast 10 more podcasts and 60 albums, my computer has just given up. Niiiice. Realll nice.

This angers me actually, quite a lot. But little does computer know, i am QUITE the force to be reckoned with. I RECRUIT FATHER! Bwahahahaha!!


More later.



that's right. DB is so old-school, she is called "Classic". Oh yeahhh.


*Why yes, most of these ARE musicals. How did you know?

**There ARE some songs on my ipod i've never listened to before.

***Well, maybe i paraphrased