First things first: Just found omnictionary.com. spend QUITE SOME TIME* reading all the B2.0 quotes. Deee-lish. Also, I LOVE how John's "Education Face"** is like he's perpetually surprised. It's great.
Anyways, the title.
I'm not part of the "original" fandom for twilight. I actually picked up the cd at the library before any of my friends had heard of it and started listening. But the boringness of the first chapters mixed with my actual dislike for audio recordings that AREN'T a tape led me to put it down.
Months later: Allison and Alyssa and Steph are RAVING about this new series, have i heard of it? I one-hundred-percent trust the judgement of these girls and read it. Then i realize. It's that book i rejected! I generally don't pick up reject books, but with THIS MANY friends loving it...How could i not? I read the three first books as fast as i could get them from the library. I wish i could rewind to this time to see how i Honestly felt about them. I remember having Le Crush on The Edward and looking over Alyssa's shoulder in the morning to see Twi-flair. But did i genuinely like the books? I can't remember.
If the fandom development were grouped into stages, i can imagine Fanfiction being the third or fourth stage. Anyway, the fanfic strengthened the shaky ground my Love of Twi was built on. After that: Twilight podcasts. Talking with friends about BD theories. Looking at behind-the-scenes for the movie and reading Steph Meyer's posts. Being oooh soo mad that someone leaked MS.
I was in San Diego when BD came out, no one was ready to give up "their babies" to lend me when i got back and i sure as heck WAS NOT going out to buy my- god forbid- Own Copy*** so i was forced to wait for Ashley to get two copies of the book accidentally to read the controversial story. I liked it. I hated it. I wanted someone [important!] to die!
Then: Phases started putting out less podcasts and i had better things to do than read mindless fanfic. Twilight was in a decline.
Suddenly, an event that would change Twilight in my eyes. Forever.
The movie.
I sucked up my opinion for quite a while after seeing it, in deferance for those who actually liked it. But really? It was so laughably bad. K-stew's performance is only the tip of the long, freezing cold, vampiric iceberg.
I just couldn't believe that a franchise i had put my faith in for so long had DIED so suddenly. Just like that, i was done with Twilight.
I had a couple relapses- re-reading the books****, crying at said books, still talking about rpattz's hotness*****- but all in all, Twilight was over pour moi.
Now? I think i'm part of the jaded, bitter Twi-hards. The ones who declare they "read twilight before people loved it" and find themselves defending steph meyer to those who hated the film. We go into Borders and actually moan in pain at seeing the shelves upon shelves stocked with Twilight, and have to leave at the sight of the table filled with action figures or knock-off Twilights******.Us kids who now kindofsortamaybe dislike the newcomers to the Twilight fandom, who scoff at the ones who got "hooked on the first book" or "HAD to read them after the movie! *Squee*" with an added "i TOLD myself i wouldn't read this series".
Yeah well, it happens to the best of us. You'll see soon enough. :)
*oh god, i actually just spelled that "Thyme". As in the seasoning? "Hoho, Sage, that's quite some thyme you've got there!" "Thanks, Nutmeg, isn't it something?"
**You know, when he starts out the vlog, or on sundays, or is just saying something Really Important that doesn't require an animated face?
***Been through all that with Harry Potter, thankyouverymuch
****This time, i really didn't like them. I skipped whole chapters that bored me and laughed out loud at a couple of unintentionally funny lines.
*****Hey, just because his MOVIE sucked...
******Last time i went to the library, i saw a series called "Vampirates". Now THERE's someone taking advantage of crazy fads and fandoms. *soul dies*
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

Omnictionary is quite awesome.
ReplyDeleteTwilight...how do I even start. I think I've out grown it. And Breaking Dawn actually accentuated my dislike to that exact point where I stopped checking updates for it. And I must say, the movie SUCKED. I laughed at the most inappropriate times, I swear. It was funny, because I was trying not to laugh (due to the gazillion fan girls inhabiting the theater), but some escaped as ridiculous and embarrassing noises. It was an interesting experience.
Although I have to admit, I really liked Phases podcasts, but that one died out too.
I pretty much have the same story. I used to like the books and then I just slowly started disliking it after Breaking Dawn came out. When the movie came out I realized that the movie was actually... very accurate and since the movie was horrid I realized the book isn't very good either. great blog
ReplyDelete(i'm a dftbeda buddy)
I'm sort of in between the sides of the argument. I have like the inability to dislike things (Though there are exceptions). But I do see the arguments as to why someone would fall out of love with it. And I somewhat have. When I first read them, I was totally caught up in the hype and Edward. The first three were great (admittedly i severely disliked New Moon b/c of a lack of a certain someone and an abundance of a certain other someone).
ReplyDeleteBut Breaking Dawn ruined it. The idea of pregnancy was creepy. And, like you said Maddi, somebody important should have died. All Stephanie Meyer did was heighten the tension. But most great books (and other media) need a good bit of tragedy. So she should have killed of Jacob. Plain and simple. Easy.
And as for the movie. The only reason I can [somewhat] stand the movie is that I like to see a visual depiction of a book. The story was as cheesy as ever and the effects kinda sucked. Oh, and one final note, Kristen Stewart can go suck a railroad spike (You suck Kristen! But don't take that the wrong way! I still want to see Adventureland)
this is maddi. just didnt feel like signing in.... :)
ReplyDeleteLucy- my thoughts exactly! i went to go see the movie w/ ashley and kept laughing whenever they said a particularly cheesy line. She hit me a couple times and glared a lot.
Katie- HEY! *waves* DBTBEDA buddies unite! {pretty much the best acronym ever, btw...}
Nick/Pablo- YES about Jacob. You said it buddy. :)and yes Kristen can feel free to suck anything she pleases....except rpattz... ;)
Ugh. i just like to push the twi to the back of my mind and PRAY not to think to hard about it. I'm in acual pain thinking about my husband's ruin and fame. i'm going to stop now...ouch
ReplyDelete